Match No 14 Mumbai Indians vs Royal Challengers Bangalore Result


Vivo IPL T20 2016 Match No 14 Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore

Mumbai Indians beat Royal Challengers Bangalore by 6 wickets and two overs to spare in a crucial match which saw them go ahead in the points table and also in the process sneak in to top 4. Rohit Sharma was adjudged man of the match in this encounter. Earlier Rohit won the toss and invited Kohli’s side to bat first. Tim Southee and Mitchell McClenaghan bowled an inspired initial spell of quality seam bowling. While Kohli was batting with ease against the two, Rahul felt the heat against McClenaghan. Rahul was at a point locked down at one end and was even hit by a McClenaghan bouncer in the helmet. After a few words of support from Kohli, Rahul hit 2 sixes and boundary before getting out to him caught in the first slip. AB de Villiers joined Kohli for a brief partnership, but both perished trying to up the ante. Krunal Pandya bowled good against the RCB Batsmen and finished his spell with couple of wickets in his kitty. The important thing being that he hasn’t conceded a boundary or a six in his spell. Towards the end Travis Head and Sarfaraz took the score past 150 and set a target of 171 for the Mumbai Indians. Rohit Sharma displayed once again that he is no one behind at Wankhede as he scored yet another half century with 3 sixes and 4 boundaries. Rayudu and Buttler played second fiddle to Rohit and in the end Pollard completed the formalities for Mumbai Indians with a quick fire 40* of just 19 balls. RCB Bowlers had a day to forget as none of them looked effective except Iqbal Abdulla who was successful in picking up 3 wickets.


Brief Scores

Royal Challengers Bangalore

T Head                  37(24)                                                                                   J Bumrah             3/31

V Kohli                  33(30)                                                                                   K Pandya             2/27


Mumbai Indians

R Sharma             62(44)                                                                                   I Abdulla              3/40

K Pollard              40*(19)                                                                                 K Richardson      1/26


Man of the Match           Rohit Sharma