Match 11 Vivo IPL 2016 Delhi Daredevils vs Royal Challengers Bangalore


Daredevils too hot to handle for Royal Challengers

It was a very very interesting match later in the weekend as Delhi Daredevils beat the dangerous Royal Challengers Bangalore convincingly in their own style. Well Well what to tell? It is clear that Rahul Dravid has a point to prove with his coaching stint this season with the Daredevils. Led by the star bowler Zaheer Khan, Delhi did nothing wrong as they played good cricket.

The last time Delhi Daredevils looked a side to beat was when they had Virender Sehwag, Gautam Gambhir and Shikhar Dhawan as their top 3 and Kevin Piteresen and Dinesh Karthick in the middle. But after a long time their batting came good and they are playing good cricket at the moment. After Zak won the toss and put the opposition in, it was a shock for all the RCB fans out there as the skipper removed the dangerous Chris Gayle. JP Duminy grabbed a difficult chance to send back Gayle. Then it was Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers to steady the ship. Both did just that. Mohd. Shami was brought back into the attack for Daredevils.

Both Kohli and de Villiers went past their 50. It just felt that they were in for some displaying some serious statement in the middle, but before Brathwaite came in and picked de Villiers. Then Shami’s double strike made the target doesnt zoom up and over 200. With a tough target of 192, Daredevils began well, with runs on the board and losing wickets. Q de Cock played an effortless innings which overshadowed the innings of RCB’s Kohli and de Villiers. It was his day as he smashed 3 towering hits over the rope and 15 hits to the fence with a strike rate of over 200 for an innings of 108. Later it was just completing formalities for JP Duminy as he did in style. At the end of the day Daredevils came good in the points table and early wins such as these could surely be a morale booster for the side.

Brief Scores


V Kohli        79(48)    M Shami 2/34
de Villiers   55(33)    C Brathwaite 1/18


Q de Cock  108(51)    S Watson 2/25
K Nair         54(42)     S Aravind 1/ 32

For more news and updates of Vivo IPL T20 2016 follow and subscribe LIVE ON INDIA

[email-subscribers namefield="YES" desc="" group="Public"]